It’s been a couple of days since last I posted. My apologies, dear faithful reader.

My activities during that time can be summed up with one word: sweat. Adelaide may have recently set some sort of all-time record for continuous millennia spent above boiling point but Melbourne hasn’t been far behind. I was woken at 3am last night by the sound of the glass in my window panes melting. V. disturbing.

Thankfully a cool wind arrived today, bringing with it something approaching sanity.

In the meantime, the US has fallen further into bankruptcy, planes have crashed, and both Heather Mills and Wayne Carey continue breathing. In short, disaster after disaster.

I prefer, as you know, to focus on the lighter side of life. Like, for instance, this story:

Hotel offers sex toy minibar
The Vincent Hotel, in Southport, near Liverpool, will have “intimate seduction kits” in each of its 60 rooms from May, containing lubricating gel, massage oil, a vibrating ring and two condoms.

The kit will be in a sealed box alongside more traditional minibar items like nuts, chocolate and alcohol. Guests can request an extra special kit containing a whip, mask and bondage tape.

It’s all a bit unnecessary, as far as I’m concerned. A mini bottle of cheap scotch and a Toblerone and I’m anyone’s.

Also, and maybe I’m being naive here, but what’s the vibrating ring for? To remind you you’re married and you shouldn’t be shagging your secretary in some cheap English dive?

Running
A sweaty 10km at lunchtime today, before the change had adequately done its stuff. Still, a run’s a run.