Apologies to those amongst you who are of the lycra-lout community – the title of today’s post has nothing to do with a certain gallic velocipede competition. I have no intention of entering the tour de france, or the tour de anything for that matter.

I was a bit more interested in this:

Monumental change for Paris skyline

Apparently, the French are cheerfully disregarding the “if you’re on to a good thing” rule and are set up upgrade the Eiffel Tower. I, for one, like the new version. It’s a little bit Belle Epoque, a bit Maison Rouge and generally pretty funky.

I am a bit worried it might take off in high winds, but I assume they’ve thought of that. Perhaps that’s part of a plan. Along comes a stiff westerly, picks up the 300 metre spike and drops it somewhere across the channel.

Here are some pictures:

Eiffel tower v2.0

Eiffel Tower v2.0 in black and white

Eiffel Tower v2.0 in day-time