I’ve pretty much ruined my chances of a fast Run for the kids time by spending today doing the “g” word (gardening). Our front lawn, never the most impressive lawns at the best of times, has been at death’s door for the past two summers. We decided to put it out of its misery, so paid some guy $60 to drop half a truck load of steaming mulch in the middle of the yard. I spent most of today spreading it out all over the place – carrying buckets of wierdly steaming rotting vegetation around the shop.

Still, it’s marginally more enjoyable than work.

I’ve done pretty well at RFTK in previous years – both under an hour, last year 56 minutes something. I should aim for somewhere around that pace, but I’m not overly confident. I have a nasty feeling I’ll wake up tomorrow with a sore back.

Pictures
That’s the last time I post pictures of myself running online. Something about the site of me sweaty, unshaven, dressed in very little and breathing heavily seems to bring out the worst in my little coterie of commenters.

Earth hour
I’ve just been told it’s Earth hour at 8pm tonight. I gather the idea is we are all to turn off our lights for a while, thereby raising the world’s level of environmental smugness and self-righteousness. Or something.

I’ll turn the lights out all-right. I don’t want to be the only one. Besides – I should be able to see alright by the light of the plasma screen. If I leave the fridge open that should take care of the kitchen.